IMPORTANT NOTICE ABOUT COMMENTS

Because of spam, I personally moderate all comments left on my blog. That means you will not see your comment when you post it. It will instead show up within 48 hours, along with my response if one is appropriate.

All comments are welcome and will be posted, even if they are negative. You just can't promote other sites or products in them.

If you have a personal question about LI or any related topic you can send me an email at stevecarper@cs.com.

Otherwise, this blog and my Lactose Intolerance Clearinghouse are now legacy sites, meaning that I am not updating them any longer. The basic information about LI is still sound. However, product information and weblinks may be out of date.

My old website can be found at www.stevecarper.com/li

For quick offline reference, you can purchase Planet Lactose: The Best of the Blog as an ebook on Smashwords.com or Amazon.com or BarnesandNoble.com or a whole lot of other places that Smashwords is suppose to distribute the book to. Almost 100,000 words on LI, allergies, milk products, milk-free products, and the genetics of intolerance, along with large helpings of the weirdness that is the Net.

Saturday, June 24, 2006

When Is Butter not Butter?

From dictionary.com

but·ter

n.

1. A soft yellowish or whitish emulsion of butterfat, water, air, and sometimes salt, churned from milk or cream and processed for use in cooking and as a food.

2. Any of various substances similar to butter, especially:

    a) A spread made from fruit, nuts, or other foods: apple butter.

    b) A vegetable fat having a nearly solid consistency at ordinary temperatures.


It's that second definition that can cause the confusion. Apple butter, peanut butter, cocoa butter, and lots of other soft spreadables made from non-dairy sources are called butters. None of them should have any lactose or any other dairy product.

Same with all products sold as "cremes" rather than "creams."

Unfortunately, every once in a while dairy products are added to the completely dairy-free original. Coconut "milk" (sometimes called cream of coconut) is non-dairy. But there are coconut milk products in the U.S. that have real dairy milk added to them for better flavor and consistency.

It's a plot to drive us crazy. When in doubt, repeat after me, always read the ingredients list.

More of these Supermarket Foolers on my web site.

Bookmark and Share

No comments: