Because of spam, I personally moderate all comments left on my blog. However, because of health issues, I will not be able to do so in the future.

If you have a personal question about LI or any related topic you can send me an email at I will try to respond.

Otherwise, this blog is now a legacy site, meaning that I am not updating it any longer. The basic information about LI is still sound. However, product information and weblinks may be out of date.

In addition, my old website, Planet Lactose, has been taken down because of the age of the information. Unfortunately, that means links to the site on this blog will no longer work.

For quick offline reference, you can purchase Planet Lactose: The Best of the Blog as an ebook on or Almost 100,000 words on LI, allergies, milk products, milk-free products, and the genetics of intolerance, along with large helpings of the weirdness that is the Net.

Thursday, February 09, 2006

Calcium Is Not Lactose

I just received yet another question asking whether a calcium ingredient on a food label contained lactose.

The simple answer is no. No calcium additive in any food contains any lactose.

I can only assume that the confusion comes from the fact that milk is high in calcium. Some people must think that, therefore, calcium comes from milk, and so calcium must contain lactose.

Not true. Commercial calcium is rarely derived from milk. And no calcium product, not even calcium lactate, will have any lactose at all.

Just to be on the safe side, let me mention that calcium caseinate does indeed derive from the milk protein casein. And it is something that people with serious milk allergies must avoid. However, it contains no lactose. Two different problems; two different things to watch out for.

More on lactose in calcium products on my website on the page The Experts Speak.

Bookmark and Share

No comments: