I received an email from Nicole S. telling me that Sorrento string cheese was lactose free. Their website doesn't confirm this, but before I could go any further the enterprising Nicole contacted the company and received this excellent response.
String cheese is made when a special culture changes the milk sugar into lactic acid, however there is some residual lactose left.
Our lactose free string cheese has a special added enzyme that further breaks down the residual lactose into two other easily digested sugars- galactose and glucose. Thus lactose is eliminated!
Quality Assurance Specialist
You can see more about Sorrento Stringsters Mozzarella String Cheese and Sorrento Stringsters Reduced Fat Mozzarella String Cheese at the Sorrento snack cheese products page.
Many thanks, Nicole!